Boris Johnson restores whip to 10 Tory rebel MPs who voted to stop Brexit

Boris Johnson has restored the Tory whip to 10 of the 21 former Conservative rebels who were expelled after backing a bid to block a No Deal Brexit. 

The Prime Minister met with the 10 MPs in his House of Commons office this evening as they were offered the chance to return to the party. 

All 10 accepted the PM’s offer and will now be able to stand as Tory candidates at the forthcoming snap general election. 

The 10 who have had the Tory whip restored are: Alistair Burt, Caroline Nokes, Greg Clark, Sir Nicholas Soames, Ed Vaizey, Margot James, Richard Benyon, Stephen Hammond, Steve Brine and Richard Harrington.  

The remaining 11 rebels, including Philip Hammond and Ken Clarke, have not been welcomed back. 

However, a Tory source said that this evening’s events do not mean that the remaining 11 will be permanently deprived of the whip as they suggested there could still be a way back for the PM’s critics.